Keala Kennelly First Female to Win Barrel of the Year Award

Next Up

Keala Kennelly captured by Tim McKenna. WSL / Tim McKenna photo.

In a historic first, Keala Kennelly became the first women to win a World Surf League Big Wave Award, when she won the Pure Scot Barrel of the Year. The photo was shot by Tim McKenna at Tehupoo, Tahita on July 22nd of 2015. Kennelly was the first women to win any big wave award.

RELATED: Tom Wallisch Breaks Longest Rail Record

The win came during a historic El Niño season, making it all the more impressive. Other nominees are listed below, and are the who's who of big wave progression. The thirty seven year old Kennelly has had a long, decorated surf career, which also includes acting and DJ credits. The win is just a small example of what she has contributed to the world of women's surfing.

Pure Scot Barrel Nominees

Winner: Keala Kennelly (Haleiwa, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on July 22, 2015. (Winner: Tim McKenna. Photo nominees: Kirvan Baldassari, Brent Bielmann and Isaac Sokol)

Tom Butler (Newquay, Cornwall, England) at Mullaghmore Head, Ireland on October 28, 2015. (Photo nominee: Ian Mitchinson)

Greg Long (San Clemente, California, USA) at Jaws, Maui, Hawaii on December 6, 2015. (Photo nominees: Erik Aeder, Kelly Cestari, Richard Hallman, Paul Karaolides and Sofie Louca)

Mark Mathews (Maroubra, New South Wales, Australia) at The Right, Australia on June 26, 2015. (Photo nominee: Jack Sherriffs)

Ian Walsh (Haiku, Maui, Hawaii) at Jaws, Maui, Hawaii on January 28, 2016. (Photo nominees: Richard Hallman and Aaron Lynton)

Next Story

TGR Tested: Faction Dictator 3.0